Icarian Sea Ancient Feasts

The Icarian Picnic is the last trace of ancient festivals devoted to Dionysus, the spirit of wine and ecstasy, later considered a patron of the arts. The Greek Byzantine chain dance was a relic of the Dionysian procession.

feast

The Eastern Orthodox faith was devoted to a celebration of life. The saints’ days are commemorated with numerous feasts. There are two types of feasts in the Orthodox Church calendar: fixed and movable.

 

Twelve Great Feasts (see list…)

“And the Spirit and the bride say, Come.” (Rev 22:17)

 
According to some legends, the Messiah will bring to his lavish banquet a fine old wine, which has matured in paradise since the creation of the world. Where Jesus is quoted as saying “I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman (John 15:1),” clearly the wine feast of Dionysus (also known as Bacchus) was a part model.

Recently, scholars have been re-examining the feasts in Homer’s account of what he called the Palace of Nestor in Pylos. According to remains unearthed at Pylos in 1952, the ancient feasts gathered thousands of people and offered vast quantities of food. Some feasts may have served upward of 8,000 people, far more than lived within the palace walls. They served a purpose similar to inaugural balls, community banquets, and other modern-day events: to seal an agreement or solidify a traditional relationship.

Origins of Rebetiko

 

Ikaria bluezone bluezone

In the 1930s, the annual Icarian Picnic evolved into a weekend convention in a fine hotel. The picnic may be one reason the inhabitants of this Greek island live long and healthy lives.

Sip and trip, take two: A Grecian ode - The Washington Post
Sip and trip, take two: A Grecian ode – The Washington Posthttp://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/food/sip-and-trip-take-two-a-grecian-ode/2011/07/20/gIQAqpRBbI_story.htmlThis week’s virtual Mediterranean summer tour finds comfort in Greek wines.

 

 



Here are a few original Mediterranean Recipes. Interact within game elements and objects and learn how to cook delicious and healthy food. These Flash games will teach you how to make a few original recipes:
 

Get Flash Player

 

World Class Chef Greece | Icarian-Sea
World Class Chef Greece | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/08/07/world-class-chef-greece/Today’s recipe is a famous Grecian food; shrimp pasta. Use your mouse to interact.
Fruit Salad | Icarian-Sea
Fruit Salad | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/07/fruit-salad/Fruit Salad consists of various kinds of fruit with different texture, taste and color.This is super easy dish to make for easy snack time or even for a healthy dessert.These are great for picnic.
Kebab Souvlaki | Icarian-Sea
Kebab Souvlaki | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/07/kebab-souvlaki/Today Sara will teach you how to make delicious “Kebab.” Follow saras directions to make a delicious Kebabs. You will get bonus points on early completion.
Gyros Souvlaki | Icarian-Sea
Gyros Souvlaki | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/07/gyros-souvlaki/Gyros is a dish of meat roasted on a vertical spit, generally served as a sandwich, with tomato, onion, and tzatziki sauce, wrapped in pita bread.
Cooking With Abuela Greek Salad | Icarian-Sea
Cooking With Abuela Greek Salad | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/07/cooking-with-abuela-greek-salad/Greek salad is one of the most delicious. it contains various spices and vegetables, mixed giving a charming taste. help abuela find the ingredients for this recipe.
Cooking Show Greek Meat Balls | Icarian-Sea
Cooking Show Greek Meat Balls | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/07/cooking-show-greek-meat-balls/Fried meatballs can be small, heavy and oily – so bake rather than fry, for big, light, bouncy meatballs instead. Serve with rice and a big Greek salad.
Cooking Gyros on the Beach | Icarian-Sea
Cooking Gyros on the Beach | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/07/cooking-gyros-on-the-beach/Traditional Gyros with all of the fixings like onions, tzaziki sauce, tomatoes, lettuce and delicious all on a flat bread!
Moussaka Recipe | Icarian-Sea
Moussaka Recipe | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2010/07/07/moussaka-recipe/Moussaka is a dish based on aubergines, minced meat and potatoes, topped with a creamy Béchamel sauce that is baked to golden perfection!
Delicious Gyros Cooking | Icarian-Sea
Delicious Gyros Cooking | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2010/07/07/delicious-gyros-cooking/Today the main recipe is about some delicious gyros. The best part is the background where we are going to make them.
Italian Spaghetti | Icarian-Sea
Italian Spaghetti | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/07/italian-spaghetti/In this fun dinner cooking game you are going to cook some Italian spaghetti. Boil the spaghetti, cook the sauce and finally mix it all together.
Lentil Soup | Icarian-Sea
Lentil Soup | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/07/lentil-soup/Lentils are a long-time fave for vegetarians. Full of protein, they
Chicken Soup | Icarian-Sea
Chicken Soup | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/07/chicken-soup/Some delish chicken soup in this fun cooking game. Sara will walk you through each step in the recipe as you dice up the veggies and prepare all the other ingredients.
Greek Feta Cheese Salad | Icarian-Sea
Greek Feta Cheese Salad | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/08/06/salad-with-feta-cheese/Top off this salad with some feta cheese, olives, shaved cucumbers, and red peppers to enjoy every bite. Click the floating decorations for this incredible salad.
Green Bean Casserole | Icarian-Sea
Green Bean Casserole | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/06/green-bean-casserole/Green bean casserole is a casserole consisting of green beans, cream of mushroom soup, and French fried onions.
Juice and Fruit | Icarian-Sea
Juice and Fruit | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/06/juice-and-fruit/Prepare exotic cocktails at the bar and serve the clients. See you at the bar!
Summer Salad | Icarian-Sea
Summer Salad | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/06/summer-salad/It is summer time! Make a tasty Summer Salad for lunch! Use your mouse to click on the different ingredients.
Fishy Feast | Icarian-Sea
Fishy Feast | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/06/fishy-feast/Feast yourself on some delicious custom made and garnished Sea Food. Take your pick of different kinds of fish, sauce garnish’s and sides then complete the meal with shrimp, octopus, lobster and yummy fresh vegetables.
Baked Potato | Icarian-Sea
Baked Potato | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/06/baked-potato/Use your cooking skills to make a very tasty baked potato!
Grilled Fish with Lemon | Icarian-Sea
Grilled Fish with Lemon | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/06/grilled-fish-with-lemon/Learn how to cook a delicious and very healthy food. For fish lovers, this game will be exactly to their taste.
Moussaka | Icarian-Sea
Moussaka | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/08/06/moussaka/Follow directions to make a delicious Moussaka. Use your mouse to play this game!
Cooked Rice Recipe | Icarian-Sea
Cooked Rice Recipe | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/05/cooked-rice-recipe/Just try this recipe of cooked rice and watch the smile on your face after you eat it. This is not complicated to make so you don
Homemade Frozen Yogurt | Icarian-Sea
Homemade Frozen Yogurt | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/05/homemade-frozen-yogurt/What do you prefer to eat the most during the hot summer season? Frozen yogurts are delicious and fresh. It
Make A Delicious Baklava | Icarian-Sea
Make A Delicious Baklava | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/08/05/baklava/Sara will be teaching you how to make a delicious “BAKLAVA”. At every step you will be provided with instructions on how to make the Baklava.
Baking French Toast | Icarian-Sea
Baking French Toast | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/05/baking-french-toast/Interact with in game elements and objects to prepare a delicious and yummy home baked breakfast treat.
Lasagna Cooking | Icarian-Sea
Lasagna Cooking | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2010/07/05/lasagna-cooking/You are having friends over tonight, and you must cook lasagna for them all!
French Onion Soup | Icarian-Sea
French Onion Soup | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/2011/07/05/onion-soup-instructions/Are you ready to chop, twist, turn and ready to combine the cooking ingredients to make a delicious tasty onion soup?

 
Manage your mood
 

 



 

 
Mediterranean Diet Reference Video Gallery

 

YouTube responded to TubePress with an HTTP 410 - No longer available


YouTube responded to TubePress with an HTTP 410 - No longer available
Mediterranean Diet incorporates the basics of healthy eating. The Mediterranean diet is a modern nutritional recommendation originally inspired by the traditional dietary patterns of Greece, Southern Italy, and Spain. The Mediterranean diet plan is highly sensible, emphasizing olive oil, fresh fruit and veggies, beans, and fish.

 

Greek Mediterranean Cooking - Greek Food Expert, Chef - Diane Kochilas
Greek Mediterranean Cooking – Greek Food Expert, Chef – Diane Kochilashttp://www.dianekochilas.com/Greek cookbook author Diane Kochilas, a New Yorker whose family comes from Ikaria, spends her summers on the island. Summer Cooking Classes on the island of Ikaria.

 

 

 


Mainland Greece – News | Icarian-SeaEnter Site
Mainland Greece – News | Icarian-Seahttp://icarian-sea.com/mainland-greece/Mainland Greece forms the southernmost part of the Balkan peninsula. The major mountain range of Greece is Olympus, separating Thessaly from Macedonia.

 

 


 



Share Button

 


Lounge Pass

Get the Lounge Pass
 

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not been specifically authorized by the copyright owner.
This website distributes this material without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research
and educational purposes. We believe this constitutes a fair use of any such copyrighted material as provided for in 17 U.S.C. Section 107.

By browsing our site you are agreeing to the use of cookies.
Cookies are tiny bits of data websites store in your web browser to make your online experience better.

PRIVACY POLICY: We will not use information about you without your permission.

(Read cookies - privacy policy...)

Icarian-Sea is powered by WordPress and BuddyPress

Theme by Themekraft

COPYRIGHT (C) 2000 - 2014, ICARIAN-SEA.COM, FOT K KAPNISTOS, ICARIAN SEA, GR, 83300.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Contact Us